Institute Leadership

Elizabeth Armstrong, PhD
Faculty Image

Professor of Pediatrics Part-time
Director of Harvard Macy Institute
Harvard Medical School

Harvard Macy Institute
100 Cambridge St.
Boston, Massachusetts 02114
(617) 535-6483 Phone
(617) 535-6442 Fax
elizabeth_armstrong@hms.harvard.edu


Todd Fowler
Faculty Image

Program Manager
Harvard Medical School

Harvard Macy Institute
100 Cambridge Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02114
(617) 535-6483 Phone
(617) 535-6442 Fax
todd_fowler@hms.harvard.edu


Institute Staff

Margaret Hay, PhD
Faculty Image

Leader of External Programs,
Harvard Macy Institute
Director, Monash Institute for Health & Clinical Education, Monash University

Melbourne, Australia
margaret.hay@monash.edu


Subha Ramani, MBBS, PhD, MMEd, MPH
Faculty Image

Leader of Research and Scholarship,
Harvard Macy Institute
Director of Medical Education Pathway
Medicine Residency Program, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Boston, Massachusetts
sramani@bwh.harvard.edu


Kristina Dzara, PhD
Faculty Image

Social Media Strategist, Harvard Macy Institut
Research Associate, Massachusetts General Hospital for Children
Assessment Module Director, MMSc Medical Education Program, Harvard Medical School

Boston, Massachusetts
kristina_dzara@hms.harvard.edu


Arabella Simpkin, MD
Faculty Image

Leader of Innovation Strategy,
Harvard Macy Institute
Associate Director, Center for Educational Innovation and Scholarship,
Massachusetts General Hospital

Boston, Massachusetts
asimpkin@partners.org


Traci Wolbrink, MD MPH
Faculty Image

Advisor for Technology Enhanced Learning,
Harvard Macy Institute
Co-Director, OPENPediatrics
Associate in Critical Care Medicine, Boston Children's Hospital

Assistant Professor in Anaesthesia, Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts
traci.wolbrink@childrens.harvard.edu


Course Co-directors

Thomas Aretz, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Vice President
Partners HealthCare International

Boston, Massachusetts
taretz@partners.org


Constance Bowe, MD
Faculty Image

Professor Emeritus
Partners HealthCare International

South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
cbowe115@gmail.com


Clayton Christensen, DBA
Faculty Image

Kim B. Clark Professor of Business Administration
Harvard Business School

Boston, MA
bmccready@hbs.edu


Susan Farrell, MD
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor, Medicine
Director, Continuing and Professional Development
MGH Institute of Health Professions

Boston, Massachusetts
sefarrell@partners.org


Holly Gooding, MD, MSc
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor, Medicine and Pediatrics
Boston Children's Hospital

Boston, Massachusetts
holly.gooding@childrens.harvard.edu


Reena Karani, MD
Faculty Image

Senior Associate Dean
Undergraduate Medical Education & Curricular Affairs
Mount Sinai School of Medicine

New York, New York
reena.karani@mssm.edu


Alan Leichtner, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Chief Medical Education Officer
Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA
alan.leichtner@childrens.harvard.edu


Neil Mehta, MBBS, MS
Faculty Image

Professor of Medicine
Assistant Dean Education Informatics and Technology
Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland, OH
mehtan@ccf.org


Josh Nagler, MD, MHPE
Faculty Image

Division of Emergency Medicine,
Boston Children’s Hospital,
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA
Joshua.Nagler@childrens.harvard.edu


Louis Pangaro, MD
Faculty Image

Professor
Chair, Department of Medicine
Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences

Bethesda, Maryland
louispangaro@aol.com


Roy Phitayakorn, MD MHPE (MEd)
Faculty Image

Assocaite Professor of Surgery
Director of Surgical Education Research
The Massachusetts General Hospital
Senior Education Research and Development Consultant
The New England Journal of Medicine Group

Boston, MA
rphitayakorn@partners.org


Sample of our Faculty

Victoria Brazil, FACEM, MBA, MBBS
Faculty Image

Director of Clinical Simulation
Bond University

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
vbrazil@bond.edu.au




Eugene Corbett, Jr., MD
Faculty Image

Professor Emeritus
University of Virginia School of Medicine

Charlottesville, Virginia
ecc9h@virginia.edu




Barry Dornfeld, PhD
Faculty Image

Principal, CFAR
Center for Applied Research

Philadelphia, PA
bdornfeld@cfar.com





Elizabeth Gaufberg, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
Director of Professional Development, The Cambridge Health Alliance
Harvard Medical School

Cambridge, Massachusetts
elizabeth_gaufberg@hms.harvard.edu


Alice Fornari, Ed.D, RD
Faculty Image

Assistant Vice President of Faculty Development,
Northwell Health

Associate Dean of Educational Skills Development, Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Mediicne at Hofstra/Northwell
Great Neck, New York
afornari@northwell.edu


Cecile Foshee, PhD, MEd
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Director, GME Learning Innovation
Cleveland Clinic Foundation (CCF), Education Institute

Cleveland, Ohio
fosheec@ccf.org


Stuart Goldman, MD
Faculty Image

Professor
Medical Educator
Florida Atlantic University

Boca Rotan, FL
goldmans@health.fau.edu


Elissa Hall, EdD (ABD)
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor
Associate Director for Curriculum and Education Technology
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science

Rochester, MN
hall.elissa@mayo.edu


Eric Holmboe, MD
Faculty Image

Senior Vice-president for Milestones Development and Evaluation
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education

Chicago, Illinois
eholmboe@acgme.org


Robert Kegan, PhD
Faculty Image

William & Miriam Meehan Professor fo Adult Learning and Professional Development
Harvard Graduate School of Education

Cambridge, MA
robert_kegan@gse.harvard.edu


John Norcini, PhD
Faculty Image

President and Chief Executive Officer
Foundation for the Advancement of Medical Education and Research

Philadelphia, PA
jnorcini@faimer.org


Gail Rice, RN, EdD, CHES
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Professor
Director, Faculty Development
Loma Linda University

Boston, Massachusetts
grice@llu.edu


Darshana Shah, PhD
Faculty Image

Professor of Pathology,
Associate Dean, Faculty Advancement
Editor-in Chief, Marshall Journal of Medicine
Marshal University, Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine

Huntington, WV
Shah@Marshall.edu


Teresa Sörö MSc
Faculty Image

Strategic Educational Developer
Medical Case Centre Karolinska Institutet
Perioperative Medicine and Intensive Care, Karolinska University Hospital

Stockholm, Sweden
teresa.soro@ki.se


Kent Stobart, MD MSc FRCPC
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Professor of Pediatrics
Vice Dean of Education
College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan

Saskatoon Saskatchewan, Canada
kent.stobart@usask.ca


Curtis Whitehair, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Residency Director
MedStar Health / Georgetown University

Washington, DC
curtis.l.whitehair@medstar.net


Michael Wilkes, MD, M.P.H., PhD
Faculty Image

Professor of Medicine and Global Health
Director of Global Health
University of California, Davis School of Medicine

Davis, CA
mswilkes@ucdavis.edu


Terry Wolpaw, MD
Faculty Image

Professor of Medicine
Vice Dean for Educational Affairs
Penn State College of Medicine

Hershey, PA
twolpaw@hmc.psu.edu