Core Harvard Macy Institute Faculty & Staff


Institute Administrators


Elizabeth Armstrong, PhD
Faculty Image

Clinical Professor of Pediatrics
Director of Harvard Macy Institute
Harvard Medical School

Harvard Macy Institute
100 Cambridge St.
Boston, Massachusetts 02114
617 535 6416
617 535 6442
elizabeth_armstrong@hms.harvard.edu


Todd Fowler
Faculty Image

Program Manager
Harvard Medical School

Harvard Macy Institute
100 Cambridge Street
Boston, MA 02114
617.535.6483
(617) 535-6442
todd_fowler@hms.harvard.edu



Course Co-directors


Thomas Aretz, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Vice President
Partners HealthCare International

Boston, Massachusetts 02114
taretz@partners.org


Constance Bowe, MD
Faculty Image

Professor Emeritus
Partners HealthCare International

South Dartmouth, Massachusetts 02748
cbowe115@gmail.com


Clayton Christensen, DBA
Faculty Image

Kim B. Clark Professor of Business Administration
Harvard Business School

Boston, MA 02136
bmccready@hbs.edu


Susan Farrell, MD
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor, Medicine
Education Consultant, Partners Health Care International
Harvard Medical School

Boston, Massachusetts 02115
sefarrell@partners.org


Reena Karani, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Director, Clinical Curriculum and Assessment
Mount Sinai School of Medicine

New York, New York 10029
reena.karani@mssm.edu


Robert Kegan, PhD
Faculty Image

William & Miriam Meehan Professor fo Adult Learning and Professional Development
Harvard Graduate School of Education

Cambridge, MA 02138
robert_kegan@gse.harvard.edu


Alan Leichtner, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Division/Department Head/Chief
Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA 02115
alan.leichtner@childrens.harvard.edu


Neil Mehta, MBBS, MS
Faculty Image

Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Education Technology
Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland, OH 44195
mehtan@ccf.org


Louis Pangaro, MD
Faculty Image

Professor
Chair, Department of Medicine
Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences

Bethesda, Maryland 20814-4799
louispangaro@aol.com


Roy Phitayakorn, MD MHPE (MEd)
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor of Surgery
Director of Surgical Education Research
The Massachusetts General Hospital
Senior Education Research and Development Consultant
The New England Journal of Medicine Group

Boston, MA 02114
rphitayakorn@partners.org



A Sample of our Faculty


Eugene Corbett, Jr., MD
Faculty Image

Professor Emeritus
University of Virginia School of Medicine

Charlottesville, Virginia 22908
ecc9h@virginia.edu


Elizabeth Gaufberg, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
Director of Professional Development, The Cambridge Health Alliance
Harvard Medical School

Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139
elizabeth_gaufberg@hms.harvard.edu


Stuart Goldman, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Medical Educator
Florida State University

Boca Rotan, FL 33431
goldmans@health.fau.edu


James Gordon, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor of Medicine (Emergency Medicine)
Director, Gilbert Program in Medical Simulation
Harvard Medical School

Boston, Massachusetts 02114-2696
jgordon3@partners.org


Eric Holmboe, MD
Faculty Image

Senior Vice-president for Milestones Development and Evaluation
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education

Chicago, Illinois 19106
eholmboe@acgme.org


Myra Hurt, PhD
Faculty Image

Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Senior Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs
Florida State University School of Medicine

Tallahassee, Florida 32306-4300
myra.hurt@med.fsu.edu


Stefan Lindgren
Faculty Image

Professor
President, World Federation of Medical Education
Lund University Medical School

Sweden
stefan.lindgren@med.lu.se


John Norcini, PhD
Faculty Image

President and Chief Executive Officer
Foundation for the Advancement of Medical Education and Research

Philadelphia, PA 19104
jnorcini@faimer.org


Subha Ramani
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Director of Medicine Residency Evaluation,
Harvard Medical School

Boston, Massachusetts
sramani@partners.org


Thomas Viggiano, MD
Faculty Image

Professor
Mayo Medical School/Rochester

Rochester, Minnesota 55902
viggiano.thomas@mayo.edu



Curtis Whitehair, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Residency Director
MedStar Health / Georgetown University

Washington, DC 20010
curtis.l.whitehair@medstar.net


Terry Wolpaw, MD
Faculty Image

Professor of Medicine
Vice Dean for Educational Affairs
Penn State College of Medicine

Hershey, PA 17033-0850
twolpaw@hmc.psu.edu